A is for Archery

13 Oct

In my condition, I am essentially prohibited from the pistol range, rifle range and handling any kind of lead ammunition.  While it is very disappointing, I realized I didn’t give myself the opportunity to think about what else I could do instead.

It actually started a few weeks ago.  Upon opening the front door one night, I noticed that Mr. Cat had to carefully maneuver over a very large composite bow lying on the floor to greet me.  So I asked him, “dear Sir, why do you have a bow on the floor?”

With no answer, he only purred as he wormed around on the floor begging for pets.

I proceeded to then ask Hubs, who had a very logical reason: a co-worker gave him the bow to try out.  And thus started my archery journey.

A few more weeks went by, until Hubs told me about a local outdoors shop that specialized in bow services.  It was about an hour from our house, and over several highways that I hate driving down.  We decided on a Sunday, we would make the trek (although we should have opted for Saturday, while everyone was out hunting instead of buying supplies).

After my morning nausea wore off, we loaded up the car with snacks and water, then hit the road.  The traffic wasn’t so bad, but only because I got in the wrong lane and had to jump in about ½ mile into the traffic… my apologies to the mini-van that I cut-off!

We waited patiently to be seen by one of the three technicians.  They all looked like they were marksmen, even the 16-year-old had way more archery experience than I imagined.  A hunter/salesman named Bob helped us out.  He gave Hubs the sad news the lender bow was much too big for Hubs’ frame.

After talking with Bob about some options, we learned at that local shop – they provide a fitting, service and lesson to get us started on the archery range.  So Bob fitted us both for new bows.  Hubs special ordered a Hoyt Rampage and paid in full.

For my much smaller wing span and low pull weight, Bob said that he was getting in some Hoyt Ruckus models that would be better suited for my frame.  When I read more about my Hoyt model – I laughed a little.  It’s a youth size.

Yep, I might be child size but there is no “child size” discount on these bows.  We picked up both bows today, had them fitted with accessories, and had our scopes sighted in with a mini-lesson on best form.  My only disappointment is that the local shop caters to hunters and has nothing in stock that is camo-pink.  Of course, they can order it.

While it is fairly costly to get started in archery – in the long run, it is much more cost effective.  So long as I can stand up (or sit up straight), I can use the bow at the Club.  It will be a great activity to get me out of the house with Hubs and into the great outdoors.  And besides, I feel pretty bad-ass carrying around such an incredible piece of technology.

Leave a comment